TCRTS Executive Committee – 2020-2021 term


Luis Almeida, University of Porto, Portugal

Executive Vice Chair: 

Christopher Gill, Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Past Chair: 

Chenyang Lu, Washington University in St. Louis, USA


Nathan Fisher, Wayne State University, USA

Diversity Subcommittee

  • Chair: Enrico Bini, University of Torino, Italy
  • Member:  Martina Maggio, Lund University, Sweden
  • Member: Tulika Mitra, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Member:  Liliana Cucu-Grosjean, INRIA, Paris-Rocquencourt, France
  • Member: Daniel Mosse, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Awards Subcommittee

  • Chair: Giorgio Buttazzo, Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna of Pisa, Italy
  • Member: Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Member: Aloysius Mok, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Member: Kang Shin, University of Michigan, USA

Industry Outreach Subcommittee

  • Chair: Thomas Nolte, Malardalen University, Sweden
  • Member: Dakai Zhu, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Member: Nan Guan, Hong KongPolytechnic University, Hong Kong

Conference Planning Subcommittee

  • Chair: Robert Davis, University of York, UK
  • Member: Isabelle Puaut, University of Rennes, France
  • Member: Björn B. Brandenburg, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, Germany
  • Member: Christopher Gill, Washington University in St. Louis, USA
  • Member: Richard West, Boston University, USA

Community Outreach Subcommittee

  • Chair: Marko Bertogna, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
  • Member: Harini Ramaprasad, University of North Carolina at Charlotte,
  • Member: Insik Shin, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology,
    South Korea

Charters for Subcommittees

Awards Subcommittee

This subcommittee is responsible for setting policies and procedures as well as collecting nominations from the real-time systems community for the following awards:

  • IEEE Senior Member.
  • IEEE Fellow.
  • ACM Fellow.
  • IEEE Service Awards.

Additionally, this subcommittee will work with the past recipients of the Outstanding Technical Achievement and Leadership Award to set policies and procedures for that award. This subcommittee is also responsible for maintaining the procedures for the Test-of-Time Awards and proposing the ToT awards committee every year.

Conference Planning Subcommittee

This subcommittee is responsible for setting and documenting appropriate policies for TCRTS-sponsored conferences. Ordinarily, these policies do not change much from year to year, but they must be revisited from time to time to make sure that our conferences maintain their vitality. Such policies include:

  • The roles and responsibilities of General Chairs, Program Chairs, and Track Chairs.
  • Procedures for soliciting proposals to host TCRTS-sponsored conferences (particularly, RTSS) and the evaluation of such proposals.
  • Procedures for soliciting and accepting workshops, tutorials, exhibits, demos, competitions, etc., at TCRTS-sponsored conferences.
  • Procedures for travel stipends to TCRTS-sponsored conferences (to be coordinated with the TCRTS Treasurer and conference General Chair).

Additionally, this subcommittee is responsible for providing guidance regarding the year-to-year planning of TCRTS-sponsored conferences. Such guidance includes:

  • Suggesting nominees to fill the roles of Program Chair and General Chair. The subcommittee will maintain and provide relevant data concerning the past activities of the nominees for these positions. Such data will include information about publications, program committee service, leadership roles, etc.
  • Suggesting keynote speakers.
  • Making recommendations regarding the co-location of conferences.
  • Making recommendations regarding track themes to reflect emerging trends of importance to research on real-time systems.

Diversity Subcommittee

This subcommittee is responsible for suggesting activities that will encourage greater participation in TCRTS-sponsored conferences by people from underrepresented groups. Such activities may include:

  • Outreach efforts.
  • New workshops.
  • Scholarship and travel stipends.
  • Mentorship efforts.

Industry Outreach Subcommittee

This subcommittee will be responsible for promoting industry involvement at TCRTS-sponsored conferences. The activities of this subcommittee will include the following:

  • Obtaining sponsorships from both companies and governmental agencies.
    • Even small contributions can add up and can be used to subsidize registration fees, offer new awards, provide student travel grants, provide honoraria, etc.
  • Identifying ways to increase conference attendance from industry.
  • Identifying ways to increase paper submissions from industry.
  • Identifying mechanisms for fostering joint research opportunities between academia and industry.
  • Identifying mechanisms for distilling the considerable, growing body of academic research on real-time systems into a form that is suitable for industry consumption. Such mechanisms might include new tutorials, workshops, or survey articles.
  • Identifying ways to raise awareness of the industrial impact of real-time systems research, in both academia and industry.

Community Outreach Subcommittee

This subcommittee will be responsible for devising and executing communication strategies to promote TCRTS-sponsored activities among the TCRTS community and the public at large, through means such as the following:

  • Moderated mailing lists
  • Website with up to date information on TCRTS
  • Other web presence, including relevant social networks (LinkedIn,…)
  • Publications on high dissemination media (magazines, newspapers…)
  • Promotional materials (flyers, posters…)
  • Sponsorship of related events.