Home / Projects / IEEE Telepresence

IEEE Telepresence

Description: Advance telepresence technology that would enable a user’s remote presence at a different physical location: a) feeling as if being there, and b) having a similar effect as if being there – in appearance to others and  in effectual action, via telerobotics.

Vision: Focus on teleoperations. Operate/manipulate equipment as if present in cabin/control room. Move heavy equipment, drive agricultural machines, perform tele-medicine.

Fields of Interest: Accelerate the missing technology components and encourage integrated telepresence systems. Create new interfaces for teleoperations. Create Community, Roadmap, Standards

IEEE Future Directions Workshop: The Future of Telepresence

The Future of Telepresence Workshop was held 1-3 November 2021.  Click to learn more.


Project Chair

Adrian Stoica, PhD is a Senior Research Scientist and Principal at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). During his over 25 years at JPL he was Principal Investigator for many government projects funded by NASA, DARPA, OUSD, USAF, etc; he supervised the JPL Robotic Systems Decision, Estimation, and Controls group for 10 years, and is now Program Manager for the JPL Blue Sky Studies Program. His joined IEEE 30 years ago, and during the last decade he has been most active in IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society, where he served twice as Vice-President. He is also active in IEEE Future Directions, IEEE Systems Council, and other IEEE Units. He is a NASA Innovative Advanced Concepts (NIAC) Fellow. Adrian founded 3 conferences on adaptive systems for space, quality of life, and secure technologies. His expertise and passion covers several areas including intelligent machines, telepresence, robotics, human-machine systems and space exploration. He is enthusiastic about telepresence and teleoperations – in the sense of being able to see, feel and act remotely – and thinks it will profoundly transform the society.

Project Co-Chair

Jan van ErpJan van Erp is principal scientist with The Netherlands Organization for Applied Scientific Research (TNO) and full professor of tangible user interaction with the University of Twente. Jan obtained a master’s degree in Experimental Psychology from Leiden University and a PhD in Computer Science from Utrecht University, both in The Netherlands. His research focusses on multisensory perception and cognition, applied neuroscience, robotics, and human-machine collaboration in complex environments. Jan is also an IPMA C certified project manager and acted as program director for many (international) R&D programs, including a 24M€ program on Brain Computer Interfaces. Jan published more than a hundred peer reviewed papers (h-index 45), held several auxiliary board and advisory functions (a.o. for ETSI, ISO, NATO and the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences) and serves on the editorial board of five scientific journals. Jan is the current (vice-)president of the Eurohaptics Society, general chair of Eurohaptics 2020, chair of the TNO Institutional Review Board for human subjects experiments, chair of the NATO Research Group Cognitive Neuro-enhancement, and team lead of team i-Botics (finalist in the ANA Avatar xprize competition). Public profiles: http://nl.linkedin.com/in/janvanerp; http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=3W1xn9EAAAAJ; https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6511-2850.


Telepresence Committee

– Adrian Stoica, Telepresence Project Chair
– Jan van Erp, Telepresence Project Co-Chair, Chair, Roadmap Committee
– Saeid Nahavandi, Chair, Conference Meetings and Publications Committee
– Nikhil Deshpande, Chair, Resource Center Committee
– S. Farokh Atashzar, Chair, Telehealth/Telemedicine Application Committee
– Tiago Falk, Chair, Partnerships Committee
– Thomas B. Sheridan, Chair, Ethics, Privacy and Security Committee
– Daniel Cooksey, Chair, Entrepreneurship Committee
– Ljiliana Trajkovic
– David Kaber
– Arumugam Paventhan
– John Blitch
– Adrian Adascalitei
– Steve Trimberger
– Kaizad Raimalwala
– Kevin Kempton
– Rob Mueller
– Leila Takayama
– Tsutomu Hasegawa
– Carla Victoria Ramírez López
– Eddie Tunstel
– Jeff Linell
– Allison Okamura
– Salvatore Livatino
– David Locke
– Terry Fong

Get Involved

Interested in participating in the IEEE Telepresence project?

Contact: Project Chair, Prof. Adrian Stoica, PhD or Project Manager, Mahjeda Ali