Meet the Chairs

Markondeya Raj Pulugurtha (USA)

Dr. P. M. Raj ‘s expertise is in packaging of electronic and bioelectronic systems, with emphasis on nanoscale RF, power and neurosensor components, and  active and passive integration in ultrathin embedded modules. He is an Associate Professor in ECE and BME at Florida International University, and Adjunct Professor at Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta. He developed 1) Power components and module integration; 2) RF (LTE and 5G) components and module integration; and 3) Bioelectronic packaging, working with dozens of companies such as Texas Instruments, Intel, Maxim Integrated, Medtronic, Qualcomm, Applied Materials, Nitto-Denko and others. His research led to 340 publications, which include 8 patents. He received more than 30 best-paper awards. He co-advised more than 30 MS and PhD students who are current leaders and technology pioneers in the electronic packaging industry. He is widely recognized for his contributions in integrated passive components and technology roadmapping, component integration for bioelectronic, power and RF modules, and also for promoting the role of nanomaterials and nanostructures for electronics packaging applications. He holds multiple Associate Editor and Committee Chair positions for IEEE journals and IEEE Electronic Packaging Society. He earned his PhD from Rutgers University in 1999 in ceramic engineering, ME from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and BS from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (1993).

Attila Bonyár (Europe)

Dr. Attila Bonyár is an associate professor and head of the Nanotechnology laboratory at the Department of Electronics Technology, Faculty of Electronics Engineering and Informatics, Budapest University of Technology and Economics. He has two M.Sc. degrees in electrical engineering (2009) and biomedical engineering (2011), a Ph.D. (2014), and habilitation (2021) in electrical engineering. His current research activities are focused on the development of optical biosensor technologies utilizing plasmonics, low-dimensional nanomaterials, nanocomposites and nanometrology.

He co-authored 121 publications, including 50 journal papers. His H-index is 15, with more than 850 independent citations. In the past decade, he received best/excellent paper/presentation awards at various (mostly IEEE) conferences 10 times. He was elected to serve in the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HAS) Electron Devices and Electronics Technology Scientific Committee for two terms (in 2017 and in 2021).

He is a co-chair for IEEE EPS Nanopackaging Technical Committee and actively serves in many other international committees in elected/volunteer positions. He is a Steering Committee member for two regional IEEE conferences (IEEE-SIITME, International Symposium for Design and Technology in Electronics Packaging, since 2014 and IEEE-ISSE, International Spring Seminar on Electronics Technology, since 2017). Since 2019 he is the chair of the IEEE Hungary&Romania EPS&NTC Joint Chapter. He also serves IEEE NTC as a regional chapter coordinator in R8. Besides IEEE, he is a Technical Committee member for the Eurosensors conference series since 2016.

Jian Cai (China):

Dr. Jian Cai’s research interests lie in packaging technology and materials of microsystem. He received his PhD in 1998 in Metallic Materials & Heat Treatment, BS in 1993 in Materials Science & Engineering, both from Tsinghua University. After that, he joined the Central South University, Changsha, China in 1999 as a lecturer and had been as a Visiting Scholar in Hong Kong University of Science & Technology from 1999 to 2001. From 2001 to 2002, he worked for STI (Shenzhen) Ltd. as the R&D supervisor. He joined Tsinghua University since 2002 and is an Associate Professor now. He has worked on flip chip bumping and assembly technologies, MEMS packaging technology and materials for years. Recently, his research works focus on System-in-Package (SiP) design and realization, interconnects for 3D integration (including through-silicon-via (TSV), wafer bonding technologies). He published more than 80 papers in related area. He is an IEEE senior member, serving as IEEE-EPS Beijing Chapter Chair.

James E. Morris (Overall Advisory)

Jim is Professor Emeritus of Electrical & Computer Engineering at Portland State University, Oregon, USA, with B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in Physics from the University of Auckland, New Zealand, and a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan, Canada. In 2015, he was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Politehnica University of Bucharest.

He is an IEEE Life Fellow and Distinguished Lecturer for the Electronics Packaging Society (EPS.).He has served the EPS in multiple roles for 25 years, including 20 years on the Board of Governors as Treasurer, Conferences VP and Member-at-Large, and in multiple EPS conference organizations. He is now equally involved in the Nanotechnology Council (NTC) as VP for Conferences and Finance, as General Chair of NANO 2011 and NMDC 2018, and currently (2019) as President-Elect.

His research activities are focused on electrically conductive adhesives, the electrical conduction mechanisms in discontinuous metal nanoparticle thin films, and on nanotechnology education. He has edited or co-authored five books on electronics packaging, (two of which have been published in